Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

The Civil Litigation Division

Division Director - Deputy Attorney General Charles McGuigan

The Civil Litigation Division consists of a Deputy Attorney General and 9 Assistant Attorneys General.


  • Civil lawsuits filed by or against the State, including: constitutional and other challenges to state statutes, regulations, and activities; enforcement of the natural resource and environmental laws of the State; disputes of civil and criminal jurisdiction over Native Americans or the status of lands.
  • Specialized legal counsel to state agencies and officials in water, mining, environmental, financial, agricultural, natural resource and Indian jurisdiction law.
  • Attorney General Official Opinions and Ballot Explanations.
  • Administrative licensing actions, including environmental permitting and surety and license revocations.
  • Enforcement of the tobacco Master Settlement Agreement and tobacco escrow statutes.

Contact Information

Deputy Attorney General Charles McGuigan
1302 E Hwy 14 Suite 1
Pierre SD 5750

Other Civil Litigators:

  • Steven R. Blair
  • Megan Borchert
  • John J. Buchy
  • Frank Geaghan
  • Clifton Katz
  • David M. McVey
  • Bret Leigh Nance
  • Jon Van Patten
  • Kathryn N. Rich
  • Jennifer L. Verleger