Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

Three Appointed to Training Commission

Three Appointed to Training Commission

(Pierre) – Hughes County Sheriff Mike Leidholt, Butte County States Attorney Jim Seward, and Sturgis Mayor Mark Zeigler have been appointed by Attorney General Mark Barnett to the South Dakota Law Enforcement Standards and Training Commission.  The commission oversees the certification of all South Dakota law enforcement officers, reserve officers, 9-1-1 telecommunicators, and polygraph operators. 

The commission sets the standard for conduct and training of law enforcement officers and oversees the law enforcement academy curriculum. The commission is also charged with the task of revoking certifications in the event an officer, telecommunicator, or polygraph operator fails to maintain the professional standards set out by the state. 

Leidholt replaces retiring Butte County Sheriff Dick Davis on the commission. Leidholt brings 27 years of law enforcement experience to the commission. He started his law enforcement career as a reserve officer with the Hughes/ Stanley County Unit before working with the Ft. Pierre Police Department and the Hughes County Sheriff’s Office. In 1994, Leidholt was elected as Hughes County Sheriff and still maintains that post.  Leidholt serves on the Executive Coordinating Committee for the Western Region Institute for Community Oriented Public Safety and has served as the President of the South Dakota Sheriff’s Association.

Seward is replacing Public Utilities Commissioner Bob Sahr and represents the State Bar. Seward received his law degree from the University of South Dakota in 1998.  After clerking for the 8th Circuit Court of South Dakota, Seward worked for a private practice firm in Spearfish and Lead. While there, he was appointed as a Special Assistant Attorney General. Seward was appointed Butte County States Attorney in 2001.

Dr. Mark Ziegler will take over Pierre Mayor Gary Drewes position. Ziegler was elected Mayor of Sturgis in 2001. Ziegler also served on the Sturgis City Council for over 14 years. He represents the Municipal League. 

The South Dakota Law Enforcement Standards and Training Commission is a 10 person commission. Seven of the commissioners are appointed by the Attorney General. They represent the South Dakota Highway Patrol, South Dakota Sheriff’s Offices, Police Departments, the State Bar Association, institutes of higher education, the Municipal League, and County Commissioners. The other three commissioners are the Chief Agent from the South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation, a regional Federal Bureau of Investigation agent, and the Attorney General.