Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Jason R. Ravnsborg

Attorney General Seal

Attorney General Jackley to Serve on the National Board of Jobs for America’s Graduates

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Tuesday, September 19, 2017
CONTACT:  Sara Rabern (605) 773-3215       

PIERRE, S.D. – Attorney General Marty Jackley has been elected to serve on the National Board of Directors of Jobs for America’s Graduates (JAG). 

“One of the greatest challenges South Dakota employers face is finding young workers ready and able to work.  Jobs for America’s Graduates is already at work in South Dakota, and it is my hope to expand the educational and employment opportunities for our youth right here in South Dakota as well as across the country as a National Board Member.  It is an honor to serve on such a distinguished Board of Directors for JAG,” said Jackley. 

JAG is a state-based national non-profit organization dedicated to improving graduation rates and academic achievement for at-risk students.  The results JAG has achieved over the past 38 years, in 1200 locations across 34 states, are impressive and compelling:

•    Graduation Rate:  95%
•    Employment Rate: 63% (much more than double the rate for this at-risk population
•    Full-time Jobs Rate: 75% (more than tripling the rate for this population)
•    Full-time Placement Rate: 90% (combined work and college commitments to equal full time)

In South Dakota, JAG operates in seven schools with a great track record. Those seven sites are: Bennett County High School, Todd County High School, Rapid City High School, Wagner High School, Deuel High School, Lake Andes High School and Wakpala High School. JAG also operated in three Junior High Schools including Wagner, Lake Andes and North Middle School Rapid City.

More Governors serve on the Jobs for America’s Graduates Board of Directors then on any Board in the nation (ten) including Governor Phil Bryant, Chairman (MS); Governor Steve Bullock, Vice-Chair (MT); Governor Sam Brownback (KS); Governor Doug Ducey (AZ); Gov. John Bel Edwards (LA); Governor Eric Holcomb (IN); Governor Asa Hutchinson (AR); Governor Kenneth Mapp (VI); Governor Terry McAuliffe (VA) and Governor Chris Sununu (NH).