Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Jason R. Ravnsborg

Attorney General Seal

Seventeen Inmates Indicted on Possession of Marijuana at the Durfee State Prison

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Thursday, September 13, 2018
CONTACT:  Sara Rabern (605) 773-3215

PIERRE, S.D.  –  Attorney General Marty Jackley announced the following inmates of the Durfee State Prison have been indicted by a Bon Homme County Grand Jury.  Each of the inmates has been indicted on one count of possession of article of indulgence, marijuana, class 6 felony, punishable by up to two years in the state penitentiary and/or $4,000 fine and one count of ingesting substance, except alcoholic beverages, for purpose of becoming intoxicated, class one misdemeanor.

Thomas Never Miss a Shot, 22
James Elmer Shaw, 41
Delano James Brafford, 26
Christopher Lee Chipps, 35
Trynn Dale Andersen, 26
Dylan Boyd Brown, 28
Benjamin Nicholas Hunt, 28
Levi Ambrose Locke, 27
Mitchell Dennis Amundson, 23
Elliot Blaine Bluebird, 25
Randy Lee Ramsey, 40
Sheldon Tyrone Two Bulls, 32
Theodore James Redwing, 36
Michael Ryan Larson, 36
Matthew Tyler Fritz-Chappell, 23
Benjamin Charles Carter, 37
Jesse Allen Opatz, 24



“Recognizing our prison system’s duel role of punishment with the opportunity for rehabilitation, inmates are expected to follow the prison rules and the law. I want to thank the prison officials and staff for their assistance and full cooperation during this investigation,” said Jackley.


All defendants are presumed innocent until such time as proven guilty.


This case is being investigated by Special Investigations Units at Mike Durfee State Prison and the South Dakota State Penitentiary and prosecuted by the Attorney General’s Office.