Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg Issues Statement on Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Filing of Purdue Pharma

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Monday, September 16, 2019

PIERRE, S.D. Attorney General Ravnsborg released the following statement regarding the filing of Chapter 11 bankruptcy by Purdue Pharma.

“For months we have been in negotiations in an effort to resolve our claims against Purdue Pharma to hold them accountable for its deceptive marketing practices for drugs such as Oxycontin,” said General Ravnsborg. “The settlement framework allows us to move forward in helping the people of South Dakota address this epidemic. This settlement will avoid lengthy litigation, costs and most importantly Purdue will no longer exist.” 

This bipartisan group of 29 Attorneys General, in addition to South Dakota, is comprised of 23 other States and 5 U.S. Territories participating in the agreement currently. The 23 States include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginal, Wyoming. The participating Territories are: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.


The Office of the Attorney General is the chief legal office for the State of South Dakota and provides legal advice to agencies, boards, and commissions of the State as well as representing the State in state and federal court.  The Office of Attorney General also handles prosecutions, felony criminal appeals, civil matters, consumer protection issues, and issues formal opinions interpreting statutes for agencies of the state.  Visit to learn more.

Connect with us on Facebook or on Twitter at @SDAttorneyGen

CONTACT: Tim Bormann, Chief of Staff, (605) 773-3215