Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, October 10, 2019


PIERRE, S.D. – Attorney General Jason Ravnsborg today announced the appointment of Clay County State’s Attorney Alexis A. Tracy to serve on the South Dakota Open Meetings Commission.


“Alexis Tracy has served South Dakota as a prosecutor for over a decade in Union, Turner and Clay counties,” stated Ravnsborg.  “Her knowledge and experience in working with government boards and commission will be an excellent asset to an already strong commission.”    


Tracy received her bachelor’s degree from the University of South Dakota in 2003 and her Juris Doctorate from the University of South Dakota School of Law in 2006.  She was Deputy State’s Attorney for Union County as well as a part-time Deputy State’s Attorney for Turner County prior to being elected State’s Attorney for Clay County in 2016.  She is also the Vice-President of the South Dakota State’s Attorney’s Association.


Tracy will be filling the vacancy on the commission created by former Meade County State’s Attorney Kevin Krull who accepted an appointment to serve as a judge for the Fourth Judicial Circuit.


The Open Meetings Commission was created in 2004 and consists of five attorneys appointed by the Attorney General.  The commission’s main goal is to ensure that government is open and accessible to all South Dakotans.  More information can be found on the Attorney General’s website. 




The Office of the Attorney General is the chief legal office for the State of South Dakota and provides legal advice to agencies, boards, and commissions of the State as well as representing the State in state and federal court.  The Office of Attorney General also handles prosecutions, felony criminal appeals, civil matters, consumer protection issues, and issues formal opinions interpreting statutes for agencies of the state.  Visit to learn more.

Connect with us on Facebook or on Twitter at @SDAttorneyGen

CONTACT: Tim Bormann, Chief of Staff, (605) 773-3215