Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

Attorney General Jackley Joins AG Statement Supporting Israel

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, Oct. 12, 2023

Contact: Tony Mangan, Communications Director, 605-773-6878


Attorney General Jackley Joins AG Statement Supporting Israel


PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley has joined Attorneys General from 26 other states in issuing a statement supporting Israel against the terrorist attacks by Hamas.


The statement reads:


“We are outraged by the terrorist attack perpetrated by Hamas against Israel. Hamas, a genocidal terrorist organization, decided to violate every law of nations and nature in its bloody, pre-planned massacre of civilians. Hamas murderers slaughtered hundreds of innocents -- homebodies and concertgoers, Holocaust survivors and newborns. The dead are not just Israelis, but Americans and citizens of countries around the world.


The images, videos, and stories still coming out since that night are heartbreaking. Many of those videos and images were released by the perpetrators themselves. Kidnapping, torture, and rape violate the laws of all societies, of civilized states, and of war. Innocents both in Israel and in territory occupied by Hamas continue to pay the price for Hamas’s terrorist operations in Gaza and invaded Israeli territory. No sovereign nation can tolerate such terrorist operations within its borders.


We stand with Israel as it defends itself from this inexplicable and obscene violence. Israel’s remarkable resilience and restraint are exemplified by its longstanding commitment to minimizing civilian casualties while defending its people. We regret that Israel’s pursuit of justice and self-defense will cost lives. But responsibility for every life lost in this conflict can be laid at the feet of the cowardly Hamas leadership, residing in comfort in Doha, and their murderous servants. We pray for peace and safety for Israel and the rest of the Middle East.”

Other Attorneys General signing onto to the statement are from Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.