Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

Attorney General Jackley Honors Latest Class Graduating Friday from Basic Law Enforcement Certification Course press release image

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, November 14, 2023

Contact: Tony Mangan, Communications Director, 605-773-6878

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley congratulates the 44 students who will graduate Friday from the state Basic Law Enforcement Certification Course as they complete a 13-week training program and became fully qualified law enforcement officers in the state.

“Our newest officers have worked hard to prepare themselves to serve their communities and state,” said Attorney General Jackley. “Friday’s ceremony honors their commitment as well as those of their families.”

Graduates are required to complete 520 hours of course work that includes instruction in the law, arrest control tactics, firearms, vehicle handling, and criminal investigations. The training program is taught by full-time staff from the South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation and adjunct instructors from law enforcement agencies from across the state.

Friday’s graduation starts at 10 a.m. at the George S. Mickelson Criminal Justice Center in Pierre. South Dakota Highway Patrol Superintendent Col. Rick Miller is the guest speaker.

Members of the 187th Basic Law Enforcement Certification Course and their law enforcement organizations are:

Austin Ball, Brown County Sheriff’s Office; Olivia Case, Turner County Sheriff’s Office; Blake Christensen, Rapid City Police Department; Riley Christie, Fall River County Sheriff’s Office; Brett Craig, Yankton Police Department; Pywe Der, Huron Police Department; Caleb Deville, Watertown Police Department; Adam Doyle, Yankton County Sheriff’s Office; Matthew Fee, Brookings County Sheriff’s Office; Alicen Fladland, Roberts County Sheriff’s Office; Bailey Hahne, Butte County Sheriff’s Office; Ethan Heitkamp, Brookings County Sheriff’s Office; Abby Helwig, Rapid City Police Department; Luke Hill, Madison Police Department; Izaak Hoey, Lake County Sheriff’s Office; Taylor Homan, Rapid City Police Department; Aric Homola, Belle Fourche Police Department; Jeremy Koons, Rapid City Police Department; Kendrick Larson, Pennington County Sheriff’s Office; Adam Leins, Milbank Police Department; Jamie Long Crow, Winner Police Department; Allen Maharaj, Pierre Police Department; Alex Maldonado, Webster Police Department; Jacob Mayberry, Pennington County Sheriff’s Office; Alex Merchen, Spearfish Police Department; Tevin Mielitz, Vermillion Police Department; Lionel Morningstar, Aberdeen Police Department; Anthony Panza, Lawrence County Sheriff’s Office; Cody Peterson, Edmunds County Sheriff’s Office; Cade Porch, Pennington County Sheriff’s Office; Norma Probst, Vermillion Police Department; Zachary Pullen, Rapid City Police Department; Donald Reker, Brookings County Sheriff’s Office; Brian Remmers, Winner Police Department; Levi Saunders, North Sioux City Police Department; Stephanie Shuster, Aberdeen Police Department; Branden Spence, Pennington County Sheriff’s Office; Tanner Tadra, Lead Police Department; Amy Thrun, Moody County Sheriff’s Office; Saul Torres, Spearfish Police Department; Kanuani Valencia Feliciano, Aberdeen Police Department; Alexis Van Overbeke, Watertown Police Department, Brandon Webb, Deadwood Police Department; and, Lindsey Zastoupil, Sisseton Police Department.