Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Jason R. Ravnsborg

Attorney General Seal

Pam Tiede honored by State’s Attorneys

Pam Tiede honored by State’s Attorneys

Pierre, SD - The South Dakota State’s Attorneys Association honored Minnehaha County Deputy State’s Attorney, Pam Tiede as South Dakota Prosecutor of the Year.  The award, established in 2002, is given annually to an outstanding South Dakota prosecutor and was presented at the Annual Meeting of the Association held in Deadwood on May 6, 2010. Association President Meade County State’s Attorney Jesse Sondreal, Minnehaha County State’s Attorney Aaron McGowan, Attorney General Marty Jackley and other Association members presented a personal version of the award to Tiede.  The permanent plaque recognizing Tiede along with past and future recipients of the award is displayed in the office of the Attorney General in Pierre.  

Tiede has served as a Deputy State’s Attorney in Minnehaha County since 1977.   She has tried criminal and delinquency matters and for the last thirty years specialized in handling the most difficult and emotional cases handled by South Dakota prosecutors, abuse and neglect of children.  Since 1990 she has been responsible for over 2100 such cases.  

Officers of the South Dakota State’s Attorneys Association elected at the Annual meeting include Brown County State’s Attorney Kim Dorsett, Aberdeen, President and Spink County State’s Attorney, Vic Fischbach, Redfield, Vice President.  Board members elected include Pennington County Deputy State’s Attorney Tracey Decker, Rapid City; Deputy Minnehaha State’s Attorney, Bonnie Costain, Sioux Falls; Corson County State’s Attorney, Eric Bogue, Faith; Beadle County Deputy State’s Attorney, Jeff Banks, Huron; Day County State’s Attorney Danny Smeins, Webster; Minnehaha County State’s Attorney, Aaron McGowan; Davison County State’s Attorney, Pat Smith, Mitchell and Hughes County State’s Attorney Kelly Marnette, Pierre.  Meade County State’s Attorney, Jesse Sondreal will assume the position of Chairman of the Board.  Beadle County State’s Attorney Mike Moore of Huron serves as State NDAA Director for South Dakota.  The Association also recognized retiring Board member Tiffani Hoeke, Turner County State’s Attorney for her service to the organization.