Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Jason R. Ravnsborg

Attorney General Seal

John Fitzgerald and Mick Strain Honored by State’s Attorneys


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE :   Tuesday, May 14, 2013
CONTACT:  Sara Rabern (605)773-3215   


John Fitzgerald and Mick Strain Honored by State’s Attorneys

PIERRE, S.D.  The South Dakota State’s Attorneys Association honors Lawrence County State’s Attorney, John Fitzgerald as South Dakota Prosecutor of the Year and Mellette County State’s Attorney Mick Strain with the Life Time Achievement award.

The Prosecutor of the Year award, established in 2002, is given annually to an outstanding South Dakota prosecutor. Association President Spink County States Attorney Vic Fischbach and Attorney General Marty Jackley presented the two recipients with their awards at the Annual Meeting of the Association held in Deadwood on May 9, 2013.

“John Fitzgerald has been prosecuting crime for over 32 years in western South Dakota and has worked tirelessly to seek justice and advocate for the rights of victims,” said Jackley.

“For over a quarter century Mick has been a dedicated prosecutor serving and protecting his community,” said Jackley. “Being named as the recipient of the Life Time Achievement award illustrates the respect he has earned from his peers.”