Attorney General Headshot

Attorney General Marty Jackley

Attorney General Seal

Open Meetings Commission

The South Dakota Open Meetings Commission was created in 2004. By Law (SDCL 1-25-8), the Commission consists of five attorneys appointed by the South Dakota Attorney General. The following attorneys are currently serving on the commission.

  • Emily Sovell, Sully County States Attorney Chair
  • Katelynn B. Hoffman, Turner County States Attorney
  • Cassie Wendt, Butte County States Attorney
  • Ernest Thompson, Brown County States Attorney
  • Alexis Tracy, Clay County States Attorney

Assistant Attorney General Steven Blair is assigned to assist the Board with procedural matters.

Open Meetings Commission Agendas

Frequently Asked Questions: Open Meetings Commission Procedure

2017 Open Meetings Brochure

Summary of Past Decisions of the Open Meetings Commission (Through December 31, 2020)

No Merits Filings Abstracts (Current 01-31-2021)

State's Attorney Requrements

Open Meetings Commission's Meeting Minutes


Open Meetings Commission Decisions